Author Topic: Perspective Cam Environment Override  (Read 2679 times)

2019-06-23, 17:26:05

Demha

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Hi,

Tldr: Can we have an environment override that's automatically activated in perspective view?

As most of you know, during the process of rendering, we always have to create or tweak a particular material that's not in the library, so we isolate the geometry and then hit interactive only to realize you forgot to switch the environment.

Sometimes the sun and sky lighting isn't good enough to check how good a material looks, so I always rely on a particular interior HDRI that I always switch to temporarily to do material work, so I have to do a lot of manual switching back and forth between Corona Environment (temporary materials tests) and 3ds Max Environment (final render) in the render settings.

Is this feature implementable?



2019-06-25, 11:34:10
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9838
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
So the idea here would be to have a different environment used for final rendering, and a different one for tweaking materials/models, right?

It does not necessarily have to be a setting in the Render Setup window. It could as well be a per-camera enviro override. So you could add one camera called "tweaking", then you would jump into that camera, and have your enviro overridden by something specific inside of that camera's settings.

Am I correct as to what you would like to achieve?

2019-06-25, 13:17:42
Reply #2

Demha

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Hi maru, yes that's what I mean.

I think using the Perspective View works better simply because it's much easier to navigate using Alt and mouse buttons and zooming with a mouse wheel, it's very quick to inspect the model from different angles during interactive render. Using a per-camera override would be just as useful, however we're limited to use the navigation tools at the bottom right corner of the screen like the 'Walk Through' tool.

If overriding the Perspective View automatically is difficult to implement, then a per-camera override would be cool too.

2019-07-01, 12:03:00
Reply #3

Tanakov

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 797
  • Corona is faster than diarrhea
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/Gringott
Hi maru, yes that's what I mean.

I think using the Perspective View works better simply because it's much easier to navigate using Alt and mouse buttons and zooming with a mouse wheel, it's very quick to inspect the model from different angles during interactive render. Using a per-camera override would be just as useful, however we're limited to use the navigation tools at the bottom right corner of the screen like the 'Walk Through' tool.

If overriding the Perspective View automatically is difficult to implement, then a per-camera override would be cool too.

why not have that map in Environment slot then? Im not sure if that would be such great improvement from my perspective, you need a whole set of environment like separate overrides?

In that case use "Scene Presets"
Corona since 2014.06.02
https://www.behance.net/Gringott

2019-07-02, 17:24:39
Reply #4

steyin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 362
  • BALLS
    • View Profile
    • Instagram Page
Couldn't you just use the new select map with multiple HDRIs plugged into environment map?

2019-07-03, 15:09:03
Reply #5

Demha

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Corona in its current form is capable of achieving this, we have the 2 options for the environment and it works if you do it manually.

What I'm suggesting is adding an override only when you are in the perspective view, that switches the environment automatically for when you isolate an object for example and work on the material, then exit isolate.

The whole point is the automation, there are many times when you're working on a material for a while using a temporary environment, only to forget to switch it back to your final HDRI for the render.
« Last Edit: 2019-07-03, 15:12:24 by Demha »

2019-07-03, 15:40:22
Reply #6

alexyork

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 545
  • Partner at Recent Spaces
    • View Profile
    • RECENT SPACES
+1 for this. If you isolate a couple of objects in an interior scene, for example, it immediately blows out because suddenly there's no room to block most of the light. So then you're forced to fudge around with the exposure on a new camera to work with it. Leaving everything "on" in the scene and using 2d pan and zoom helps but isolating a few objects to work on those details is FAR quicker in all cases. Just the exposure would need an automatic adjustment every time you enter a persp/ortho view. Or how about a simple button (right click option?) in a viewport to apply some kind of automatic exposure and white balance?
Alex York
Partner
RECENT SPACES
recentspaces.com

2019-07-03, 15:51:16
Reply #7

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1472
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
that switches the environment automatically for when you isolate an object for example and work on the material, then exit isolate.


Reference,

https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=25216.0

This would be the "Let's tweak this! button". We have a tiny project running there, maybe you will join with suggestions :]


Good Luck



Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2020-03-28, 20:25:47
Reply #8

Demha

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
So hi again. Any thoughts on this feature Maru?

2020-03-30, 16:44:09
Reply #9

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9838
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
So hi again. Any thoughts on this feature Maru?

Sorry for the delay.
This is logged as a feature request for further consideration.

(Internal ID=486706033)

Here is a workaround: you can use Corona Select Map to quickly switch between different environments - https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000057928
Maybe there is also a way to trigger Select Map change once a specific camera is used/exited?

2020-03-30, 17:32:13
Reply #10

Demha

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Thanks Maru.

Yeah the 'automatic' swap between 2 environments is the key idea behind this feature. And the trigger for this swap ideally would be the perspective camera activation.