Author Topic: VFB different result than Picture Viewer  (Read 1081 times)

2019-11-07, 11:02:53

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Hi guys,

I am wondering if there is a solution for my problem.

As the topic says my Corona VFB shows a different result than the rendering in my Picture Viewer or when I render thrue my Viewport. It's in every scene or post-effects. They seem not to be the same. The Viewport and Picture Viewer give me a darker and more contrasty image in the shadows and dark areas. Even when I save the rendering as jpg (8-bit) or hdr/exr (32-bit). Something is weird and very annoying. I would like to have the result which I get from my Corona VFB.

Hopefully somebody can help me.

THX and see you!

2019-11-08, 14:58:37
Reply #1

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1390
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, do you have the "use photographic exposure" enabled?

2019-11-09, 14:26:02
Reply #2

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Hi beanzvision,

no this function is not aktivated. I am wondering am I the only one who is hitting this issue? I would suggest to test it on your machine. The VFB looks right. But the Picture Viewer, the Viewport Rendering and the Saved file (8-bit, 16-bit and 32-bit files) looks darker like there is different colour proifle or wrong gamma etc. I don't know what it is but its very very annoying. I hope you can help me. I want exactly the result of my VFB of Corona Renderer.

Thanks

2019-11-11, 08:29:54
Reply #3

nkilar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 852
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Hmm, is the difference big or small? I remember there being issues with a small gamma difference in the past...

2019-11-11, 19:08:16
Reply #4

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
The difference is actually big (for me) beacuse I loose all the information/details in the dark areas which are very important. I don't think that I am the only one who is facing this problem. :(

2019-11-12, 10:07:16
Reply #5

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1390
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
The difference is actually big (for me) beacuse I loose all the information/details in the dark areas which are very important. I don't think that I am the only one who is facing this problem. :(
If you can send us your scene that would be great! Also, what version of Corona, Cinema and operating system are you using?
https://corona-renderer.com/upload

2019-11-12, 11:32:53
Reply #6

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Actually on every Machine I am working on I can see this problem. Anyways I will uplad a small scene where you can have a look.

I am always using the latest version. Now I am using Cinema 4D R21 on Windows 10 v1903

OS-Build: 18362.418

Full-speed non-debug version
Build timestamp: Nov  5 2019 15:06:26
Version: 5.0 daily Nov  5 2019 (core 5 (Release Candidate 4))
Cinema version: R21.026 Cinema 4D (mutli-license)
Plugin status: Plugin successfully loaded

Thanks for your help!

2019-11-13, 10:06:24
Reply #7

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
@beanzvision I just uploaded the scene file for you. I also prepared a small Photoshop file for you. I hope this problem will be solved very soon.

2019-11-14, 12:31:40
Reply #8

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1390
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
@beanzvision I just uploaded the scene file for you. I also prepared a small Photoshop file for you. I hope this problem will be solved very soon.
Hi, thanks a lot. Taking a look now!

2019-11-14, 13:58:13
Reply #9

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
@beanzvision I just uploaded the scene file for you. I also prepared a small Photoshop file for you. I hope this problem will be solved very soon.
Hi, thanks a lot. Taking a look now!

Thanks you so much!

2019-11-21, 14:23:04
Reply #10

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Any news in this Topic?

2019-11-21, 16:45:33
Reply #11

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1390
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi Vedat,

We have tested your scene and also see the differences. It has been logged internally in our bugs. Unfortunately, we are still looking into why this is happening. We feel it is best (whenever possible) to save directly from the VFB in EXR format to ensure all data is retained in the image. The VFB is the primary image buffer and we then copy that image to Cinema's native Picture viewer. The C4D PV processing is not exposed to us, so we can't say if it has a different gamma for example. If you can save directly from the VFB, then that gives you exactly the result you need. Where that's not possible - using the C4D render queue - then we suggest saving to EXR, as then you have a full range image that can be tweaked afterward if it doesn't get saved by C4D as desired.
« Last Edit: 2019-11-21, 16:49:18 by beanzvision »

2019-11-23, 21:30:03
Reply #12

tuami

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Could this be team render releated? I know a few weeks ago, we also have problems with dark images (we save 16 bit psds) with team renderer. If we use local rendering the images are like in the vfb, if we use team renderer the images or some parts of it are a bit more darker. Dont know if this still releated to us, will check that soon.

2019-12-03, 09:16:04
Reply #13

vedat.afuzi.design

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
I alos played a bit with some settings in the VFB and figured out that when I change the contrast value from "1" for example to "1.001" or negative "-0,999" there shoud not be a big difference in the rendering but then I get the same "dark image" as in the Picture Viewer I told you about. The tonemapping is the problem I geuess. :( but I love the tonemapping settings :)

Maybe this helps.