Author Topic: max crash when rendering  (Read 1549 times)

2019-11-19, 12:26:34

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
either with interactive or offline rendering, max just crashes. I dont know what is going on, but here are the log files:
max2017 and corona 5


Total: 0, actual: 0   CoronaMax invoke
Total: 0, actual: 0   Current FPS: 0
Total: 0, actual: 0   IR_DEBUG: Node stats: 8865 0 0 0; Times: camera: 5 scene: 1522 frame-frame: 118452;
Total: 0, actual: 0   RenderHandler:: render thread invoke
Total: 428, actual: 428   REPORT: unchanged: 0, Prim: 2857, Inst: 0, Mtl: 0, Env-tentative: true
Total: 428, actual: 0   Core::renderFrame before onFrame
Total: 3114, actual: 2686   Core::renderFrame after onFrame
Total: 3261, actual: 147   TreeScale built: nodes 268627, time 145 ms
Total: 3261, actual: 0   CoronaCore:RenderFrame: after directLight
Total: 3261, actual: 0   CoronaCore::renderFrame: after GI precompute
Total: 3261, actual: 0   CoronaCore::renderFrame: before render

And:

2019-11-19 12:20:18  Parsing scene
2019-11-19 12:20:18  ====RENDER STARTED====
2019-11-19 12:20:18  Core build timestamp: Nov  5 2019 10:01:23
2019-11-19 12:20:28  SYS INFO:  OptiX Version:[7.0.1] Branch:[r436_08] Build Number:[27108309] ABI Version:[22] CUDA Version:[cuda100] 64-bit  Display driver: 436.15 Devices available: CUDA device: 0     0000:08:00.0     GeForce RTX 2060     SM count: 30     SM arch: 75     SM clock: 1830 KHz     GPU memory: 6144 MB     TCC driver: 0     Compatible devices: 0     RT core version: 10 Peer-to-peer islands: {0}   
2019-11-19 12:20:28  Parsing scene took 9.965 seconds
2019-11-19 12:20:28  Calculating displacement
2019-11-19 12:20:28  Preparing geometry took 0.188 seconds
2019-11-19 12:20:28  Preparing geometry
2019-11-19 12:20:31  Embree: memory usage: 460.6 MB. Total embree build time is 2372ms, top level commit took: 5ms. There are 2857 embree geometry groups, 6053 instances, 2851/0/0/6 tri/animTri/hair/custom objects
2019-11-19 12:20:31  Preparing geometry took 2.496 seconds
2019-11-19 12:20:31  Preparing lights
2019-11-19 12:20:31  Preparing lights took 0.146 seconds
2019-11-19 12:20:31  Rendering initial pass

2019-11-19, 12:46:29
Reply #1

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
ow dear.. just reverted to corona 4 HF 1 and now it works.. oopsie..

I could upload the max scene, but not with assets and textures, would that be helpful? If so, where to upload?

2019-11-19, 14:04:15
Reply #2

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 594
    • View Profile
Hi,

The scene and a minidump would be helpful, instructions on how to send these to us are in my signiture.

Can you confirm if this happens only when using the Nvidia AI denoiser?

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2019-11-19, 14:27:07
Reply #3

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
i've narrowed it down a little by preparing an uploadable file. With all textures disabled/removed the IR and render work perfectly. also the denoiser. So it must be in one of the textures... hmmm...

2019-11-19, 14:47:15
Reply #4

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
merging the max file in an empty scene crashes max as well

2019-11-19, 16:07:31
Reply #5

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
I'm uploading now. 1 GB (with all the textures) the filename is temp_quizzy.rar

cheers for looking into this.

2019-11-19, 17:04:49
Reply #6

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 594
    • View Profile
Hi,

Thanks I have the scene. I can confirm that I can reproduce this crash.

I will forward the report on to our dev team for futher investigation.

Thanks,

Rowan

(Internal ID=424867549)
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2019-11-19, 17:18:49
Reply #7

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
"great" news it crashes at your setup as well...

2020-01-07, 11:58:39
Reply #8

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
any news?? I kinda like to upgrade to version 5

2020-01-07, 13:21:30
Reply #9

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 594
    • View Profile
Hi,

I've spoken to the dev team and we are still investigating this.

I will let you know when I have some more information.

Thanks for your patience,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-01-07, 15:36:23
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9431
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
According to my investigation (which may not be fully accurate), the crash is caused by:
- object "_smoke_box"
- material "Material #3294"
More precisely: the material is using a bitmap connected to a Corona Volume Mtl. When mode of the Volume Mtl is set to "inside volume", it immediately crashes.
Solution: change mode of the Volume Mtl to "on surface", or replace the material completely, or remove the offending object.

This looks like a bug, it's already reported, and our devs will look into it as soon as possible.

Note: there may be more objects/materials like this in the scene.

(Internal id=441621028)

2020-01-16, 10:02:28
Reply #11

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
i've done some more research on it as well... The offending map is the Gradient Ramp map. As soon as you put one in the volume material, and the material is set on inside volume, max crashes. So no more gradient ramp maps in my volume materials.
And just tested the checker map. This one also crashes max. So my guess is all 2D maps will give the same error when the vol material is set on Inside Volume.