Author Topic: Corona 5: Volumetrics channel broke down  (Read 861 times)

2019-12-07, 21:08:26

aler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Once upon a time a man was looking for material for the ocean and I suggested such an variant. In Corona v3 everything was fine (image 1).
Recently installed v5, for the sake of interest visualized the old scene and was surprised by the presence of incomprehensible defects (image 2). Started looking for a reason and it turned out that the problem is in the channel Volumetrics (if understand correctly). If the material is applied to one plane, then everything is fine (image 3), but if to composite (Cloner or Grouping), then something incomprehensible (image 4).
Tried instead Refraction apply Opacity - the same (figure 5, for more dramatic Scattering lighter).
« Last Edit: 2019-12-07, 21:18:18 by aler »

2019-12-08, 01:04:07
Reply #1

Cinemike

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 509
    • View Profile
I don't have an older version at hand right now to try, but if it worked then, i assume this was rather a bug than not working now. I can't imagine that a volumetric effect is supposed to work on a 2D plane (or on anything else than on a closed volume). But I might be wrong.

2019-12-08, 09:59:41
Reply #2

aler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
I can't imagine that a volumetric effect is supposed to work on a 2D plane (or on anything else than on a closed volume).
It works. The proof - it's my old file.
(HOT4D: old, new)

2019-12-08, 10:18:36
Reply #3

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 893
    • View Profile
It now works correctly.
But be aware of and use Connect Object

2019-12-08, 11:04:14
Reply #4

aler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
It now works correctly.
But be aware of and use Connect Object
Interesting idea, but it doesn't work with Render Instances.
And that, in Corona 5 already it's time to dance the dance with a tambourine? In Corona 3, it was easier, everything worked and no complications were required.

2019-12-08, 16:47:23
Reply #5

aler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
But be aware of and use Connect Object
...tried it again: burnin, thanks for the tip about the Connector, it could be a replacement variant, but still I'm not thrilled because of what's become now more difficult.

2019-12-09, 17:03:37
Reply #6

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1427
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Is this what you were going for? If so, I enabled caustics.


2019-12-09, 19:06:54
Reply #7

aler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Is this what you were going for? If so, I enabled caustics.
Thanks for the recommendation - resourcefully :-) I also tried it, but it doesn't solve the problem, it only masks it. And caustics are not always needed.
...if it is not corrected, it is not scary - burnin gave a good recommendation (Connector) and it's an alternative. In addition, not every day need to visualize the ocean via HOT4D & Cloner.
« Last Edit: 2019-12-09, 19:20:44 by aler »