Author Topic: Black screen with Corona Renderer/3ds max/AMD 2990WX  (Read 995 times)

2020-01-27, 17:29:21

Robert

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,
I have a problem with Corona renderer - it crashes to black screen during the rendering. The problem probably caused by a weak VRM on my motherboard. Is there anybody here who has experienced a similar problem with black sreen crashes? And the other question is, Is there anybody here who has AMD 2990wx, using 3ds max and Corona render and doesn´t have any problems with rendering? If the answer is yes, can you put here you motherborad specifications or PC specification CPU/BOARD/VGA/RAM/PSC? I have tried almost everything and can't find any solution....

2020-01-27, 17:42:27
Reply #1

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2962
    • View Profile
Quite a lot of people by the look of the benchmark :)
https://corona-renderer.com/benchmark/results/cpu/2990wx

Black screen rather than blue screen of death? Kind of sounding like a video card issue, the GPU isn't overheating or something is it, or drivers failing in some way? (Are you using NVIDIA denoising at all?)

2020-01-27, 18:22:03
Reply #2

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 660
    • View Profile
Hi,

I have a 2990wx here at it runs with no problems.

2990wx/Asus Prime x399-A/128GB/GTX 1080

I'd recommend updating all of your system drivers and checking to see if there is an available update for your BIOS.

Secondly what is the full specification of your computer?

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-01-27, 18:22:51
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9576
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Robert has already contacted us through our helpdesk, but I additionally directed him here, so that other users can share their ideas.

@Robert - could you please post your full system specs here as well?

2020-01-27, 21:02:14
Reply #4

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,
I have a problem with Corona renderer - it crashes to black screen during the rendering. The problem probably caused by a weak VRM on my motherboard. Is there anybody here who has experienced a similar problem with black sreen crashes? And the other question is, Is there anybody here who has AMD 2990wx, using 3ds max and Corona render and doesn´t have any problems with rendering? If the answer is yes, can you put here you motherborad specifications or PC specification CPU/BOARD/VGA/RAM/PSC? I have tried almost everything and can't find any solution....

Black screen and PC reset or simply black-screen and pc stays active?
“Every artist was first an amateur”

2020-01-28, 08:17:26
Reply #5

Robert

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi everyone again,

I have exactly the same problem like some users around the world. For example - https://community.amd.com/thread/236638
The man from the AMD community described the problem in detail. I can´t find any solution of the problem with PC crash black screen. When I say "Crash", I mean the screen goes black and there is no image on screen. The keyboard doesn't work. Even the power or reset buttons don't work - I have to remove the power cord and re-plug it in physically. There is no bluescreen or anything. It just stops working. The log of events simply shows that the previous shutdown at <time> was unexpected.
I've tried everything, absolutely everything. It means update all drivers, bios, windows etc., change MTB, VGA, RAM, power source.... My computer with AMD 2990WX is 100% stable (a lot of synthetic tests, Vray- 100hours stable rendering etc.) except of the situation when I am using Corona render. After a few minutes or hours PC crashes.
Please, is there anybody here who have experienced the same problem and found any solution of it?
I'm really desperate...

Here is my PC specs:
CPU: Amd threadripper 2990wx 32 core procesor
VGA: Nvidia geforce rtx 2080
MTB: Asus prime x399-a (bios 1002-amd agesa summitPI-SP3r2-1.1.0.2)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 128GB (4x32GB) 3000MHz CL16
HDD: Kingston SA1000m8480g
PSU: Seasonic focus plus 1000 gold
COOL: Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3

2020-01-28, 10:24:19
Reply #6

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3980
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
That kind of shut-down is almost always memory related.
Corona is more memory intensive than other benchmarks or engines.

Try to set your memory back to default (2133) and see if it persists. If no, try to set memory to 2933. If it's bad again, go lower (2800).

Asus Prime wasn't made for 2990WX and 128GB of 3000 MHz memory, the power cascade simply isn't there even if it's stable 99perc. of time.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-01-28, 12:03:12
Reply #7

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi everyone again,

I have exactly the same problem like some users around the world. For example - https://community.amd.com/thread/236638
The man from the AMD community described the problem in detail. I can´t find any solution of the problem with PC crash black screen. When I say "Crash", I mean the screen goes black and there is no image on screen. The keyboard doesn't work. Even the power or reset buttons don't work - I have to remove the power cord and re-plug it in physically. There is no bluescreen or anything. It just stops working. The log of events simply shows that the previous shutdown at <time> was unexpected.
I've tried everything, absolutely everything. It means update all drivers, bios, windows etc., change MTB, VGA, RAM, power source.... My computer with AMD 2990WX is 100% stable (a lot of synthetic tests, Vray- 100hours stable rendering etc.) except of the situation when I am using Corona render. After a few minutes or hours PC crashes.
Please, is there anybody here who have experienced the same problem and found any solution of it?
I'm really desperate...

Here is my PC specs:
CPU: Amd threadripper 2990wx 32 core procesor
VGA: Nvidia geforce rtx 2080
MTB: Asus prime x399-a (bios 1002-amd agesa summitPI-SP3r2-1.1.0.2)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 128GB (4x32GB) 3000MHz CL16
HDD: Kingston SA1000m8480g
PSU: Seasonic focus plus 1000 gold
COOL: Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3

Had two cases in the past with AMD, one was Threadripper 2970WX and the other AMD Ryzen 3800x. The case with TR was memory related but we never figured out what, possible incompatibility of MB and RAM's both cheapest brands you could find (we've replaced the sticks and problem was solved, 128GB), this slave would crash and BSOD randomly after rendering for more than 10-20minutes.

Second case with Ryzen was due to under-voltage, strangely stress tests came back negative with no issues but when the said machine had to render a scene, it would crash and restart. Solved it by putting more peak core voltage. This CPU once again was part of similarly configured ones and all of them worked great except it, same hardware configuration but apparently not enough "juice".
“Every artist was first an amateur”

2020-01-28, 15:51:11
Reply #8

Robert

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
@ Juraj Talcik
@ rowmanns
@ GeorgeK

Guys, thank you VERY match for your advice and tips. I have tried default RAM and some other frequences and problem persists. There was one thing with an effect - to change quad channel to dual channel. But my render time was very slow  (50% slower), because quad/dual is unfortunatelly important for rendering. @rowmanns has a very similar PC (same CPU and MTB) and no problems, so maybe I have to try different RAM or MTB or both.
Now I have to do some tests and than give you some feedback.

2020-01-28, 16:27:33
Reply #9

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3980
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
First-generation X399 boards were never meant for 250W CPUs like 2990WX + lot's of memory (8 Slots when populated put quite some stress on memory controller on chip).

But not sure if I would bother swapping motherboard only if you can find for relatively cheap (300 dollars/euros) one of these two (and only those two): MSI MEG or Asus Zenith ALPHA (important, because there is also non-alpha).
You can run mem-test to see if the memory is still some issue.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-01-29, 09:45:20
Reply #10

Jens

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
    • Ikonoform
First-generation X399 boards were never meant for 250W CPUs like 2990WX + lot's of memory (8 Slots when populated put quite some stress on memory controller on chip).

But not sure if I would bother swapping motherboard only if you can find for relatively cheap (300 dollars/euros) one of these two (and only those two): MSI MEG or Asus Zenith ALPHA (important, because there is also non-alpha).
You can run mem-test to see if the memory is still some issue.

I'm curious to why you wouldn't bother to swap the motherboard if these first gen x399 boards aren't meant to run a 250W CPU? Not to hijack another thread, but I'm wondering if we should take these 3 2990wx workstations we just got half a year ago and turn them into a render farm and then maybe go for something like 3950x workstations instead or if it would be better to keep these 2990wx as workstations, but swap motherboards for better stability and get a couple of other machines to build a tiny farm. We are 3-4 people rendering locally and would like a small farm to be able to send jobs to and continue working locally.
My small 3D model shop: www.ikonoform.com/shop
My arch viz blog: www.ikonoform.com/blog

2020-01-29, 10:27:53
Reply #11

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3980
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Because unless you can find one cheap, you're throwing some money out and you might as well just sell it and get 3rd gen with somewhat bigger loss but full solution to all issues.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-01-29, 12:49:34
Reply #12

Vuk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
I would just try to see if its stable with 2133 and convert the workstation into a node if the budget allows it of course since you have to get a new machine then...

2020-02-17, 16:56:39
Reply #13

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9576
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
@Robert - did you manage to find the cause of this and a solution? We have another user reporting exactly the same thing, on the same CPU. If you have some findings, it would be great if you could share them.

2020-02-24, 11:26:30
Reply #14

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9576
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
So it seems that the black screen + need to unplug the PC from power issue is most probably caused by using a combination of 2990wx (and possibly other CPUs) with hardware which was not really designed for handling such CPUs (such as motherboards or PSUs).
This seems to be confirmed by what Juraj wrote here:
https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php?topic=22869.msg153046#msg153046
And also on various hardware forums online.