Author Topic: Alpha / Transparent Background with shadows  (Read 1102 times)

2020-03-25, 11:47:35

atin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Hi all!

Subject:
I want to render out a knob animation in png frames for a free UI project. Attached you see the final rendering.
The Knob + lights are in a Null-Object Group and the grey background a single plane with a hole.

Problem:
I can't get it how to have only the knob + lights visible and the grey backround transparnet (alpha)

Question:
How I have to (step by step) set the scene/settings up that the knob + lights are visible only (with shadows) & the grey bg is not visible / transparent?

Thanks & stay healthy! :)


« Last Edit: 2020-03-25, 11:56:13 by edin_2016 »

2020-03-25, 13:35:18
Reply #1

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1663
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, Is this what you are trying to do? If so, in the material go to "Advanced" and change the alpha mode to "always black". I hope that helps.

2020-03-25, 13:58:53
Reply #2

atin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Thanks for reply,

Ok maybe I wrote not clear enough - attached what I want as the goal.

So, the picture has 3 main elements:

1. knob with shadow
2. lights
3. grey background

My goal is to render out DIRECT a png file where the original grey background (3.) does not exist No further Photoshop should be required. In the attachement is a png. So, if you would have some new red background, you would see the new red background behind the knob & lights (attachment "bg-example").

The lights & the knob with the shadow (1+2) have to be still fully visible.

Again: Render out a totally normal png file (Knob, Shadows, Lights), only without the grey background of my first post, no further Photoshop actions should be required, just a png with transparency.
« Last Edit: 2020-03-25, 14:13:19 by edin_2016 »

2020-03-27, 08:30:07
Reply #3

atin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Nobody a solution?
... or is this not possible?

2020-03-27, 10:57:02
Reply #4

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6581
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
It is possible. You need to use shadowcatcher for the background and set its alpha mode to "for composite". Then save the render to png or tiff with alpha. See attached example. Is this what you're after?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2020-03-28, 21:02:15
Reply #5

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
Thanks Romullus, png work fine, just transperant object with shadow.

But with PSD multi-pass, floor is not transparant same as png... any idea...?

Thanks.
...
Mac OS X
Cinema 4D S22

2020-03-28, 21:09:05
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6581
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Sorry, i'm not familiar with PSD.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2020-03-28, 21:24:51
Reply #7

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
psd is with other multi-passes layered file....!
May be two saves, one psd layered and one png.

Anyone else who can see this with psd it comes or not...?

Thanks.
...
« Last Edit: 2020-03-28, 21:43:21 by iacdxb »
Mac OS X
Cinema 4D S22

2020-03-29, 00:00:17
Reply #8

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
PSD with alpha channel works fine.
How do you save your PSD? As an Image, Single- or Multi-Pass?

2020-03-29, 05:14:56
Reply #9

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
@Burnin, saves with Multi-pass layers.
floor applied with shadow catcher... shows black.

...
« Last Edit: 2020-03-29, 20:26:51 by iacdxb »
Mac OS X
Cinema 4D S22

2020-03-30, 01:11:37
Reply #10

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
Well, shadow catcher alpha can be either solid, transparent or for compositing...
;)
« Last Edit: 2020-03-30, 01:19:25 by burnin »

2020-03-30, 05:19:40
Reply #11

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
Hi Dev team,

I hope you can help me more in this.
I tried shadow catcher different alpha modes... but transparent background non of them works with psd...!
Only png works.

Anyway to get transparent background with multi-pass....?

Thanks.
...





Mac OS X
Cinema 4D S22

2020-03-30, 09:33:07
Reply #12

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6581
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Does it save alpha channel with PSD? If so, you need to apply mask to layers of interest. If alpha channel is not saved, then you need to save it separately, import it into PSD and apply the mask.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2020-03-30, 13:13:03
Reply #13

iacdxb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 710
  • 3D Deisgner
    • View Profile
    • www.behance.net/iacdxb
shadow catcher, set alpha mode to compositing.. and floor comes black....
in this way... two saves, one png for transparent background and second normal psd.
and then place png in psd multi-pass file and play....!

any way to get solid ground...?

Thanks.
...
Mac OS X
Cinema 4D S22

2020-04-02, 11:47:04
Reply #14

atin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
It is possible. You need to use shadowcatcher for the background and set its alpha mode to "for composite". Then save the render to png or tiff with alpha. See attached example. Is this what you're after?

Awesome, thats it, problem solved.... it was exactly what I searched for!

Thank you very much!