Author Topic: max crash modifing externally standard bitmap used in material  (Read 642 times)

2020-03-30, 15:38:13

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Hi all,
someone notice the problem as from subject?
I try to explain better: i have open the max file, i open photoshop and load the bitmap in the scene, edit it and save, when i come back to max it crash.
it happens only using standar bitmap, while using corona bitmap no problem.

thank you

2020-03-30, 15:44:15
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10077
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Is there any specific reason you need to use the 3ds Max Bitmap rather than Corona Bitmap?
The 3ds Max Bitmap is developed by Autodesk, so there isn't much we can do about it...

2020-03-30, 19:37:46
Reply #2

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Hi maru,
the reason is that i use drag the bitmap from external folder into the slate material editor and so the bitmap became automatically standard bitmap and no corona bitmap.
If there was a way to change this behevior will be great.

2020-03-30, 19:40:17
Reply #3

mferster

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 430
    • View Profile
do you have interactive rendering active while you are resaving your image? This will cause a crash

2020-03-31, 10:01:54
Reply #4

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
It crash with VFB open, with and without Interacrive Rendering active.

2020-03-31, 11:16:53
Reply #5

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi maru,
the reason is that i use drag the bitmap from external folder into the slate material editor and so the bitmap became automatically standard bitmap and no corona bitmap.
If there was a way to change this behevior will be great.

You can always use Corona converter to convert the "dragged-dropped" bitmap into Coronabitmap, the benefits of using Corona bitmap for render time efficiency, I'd say overcome any annoyances of not being able to drag it by default. Especially in quite heavy scenes.

Regarding your issue, I am afraid I was unable to reproduce it. 3ds max 2020.03, 2019 Corona v5, V6 DB. Can you please share more details?
“Every artist was first an amateur”

2020-03-31, 12:02:09
Reply #6

LukaK

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Same crashing here, it's really annoying.
One possible workaround is switching viewport(s) shading to wireframe before saving and overwriting a file in Photoshop.

2020-03-31, 12:11:22
Reply #7

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
win10 64
3ds max 2020
Corona version: 6 (DailyBuild Mar 16 2020)

2020-04-01, 19:41:15
Reply #8

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Quote
Is there any specific reason you need to use the 3ds Max Bitmap rather than Corona Bitmap?
The 3ds Max Bitmap is developed by Autodesk, so there isn't much we can do about it...
I converted standard bitmap in corona bitmap, but the .psd file in grayscale is not supported.

2020-04-02, 11:03:28
Reply #9

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • George
    • View Profile
Quote
Is there any specific reason you need to use the 3ds Max Bitmap rather than Corona Bitmap?
The 3ds Max Bitmap is developed by Autodesk, so there isn't much we can do about it...
I converted standard bitmap in corona bitmap, but the .psd file in grayscale is not supported.

Thank you we will look into this further, (internal id=488390024).

Can you please archive a scene and upload it for us to investigate this further? I am still unable to reproduce this so it might be something different entirely, also your 3ds max version is it updated to 2020.03?

Please notify me if you proceed with uploading a file: https://corona-renderer.com/upload
“Every artist was first an amateur”

2020-04-02, 12:06:42
Reply #10

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Successfully uploaded as 1585821964_corona-bitmap.zip

2020-04-02, 12:10:16
Reply #11

LorenzoS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Hi GeorgeK,
this is the message from corona bitmap

2020-04-02, 13:34:51
Reply #12

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • George
    • View Profile
Successfully uploaded as 1585821964_corona-bitmap.zip

Thank you so I was able to reproduce it, and recreate it in a new scene, indeed it happens only with regular Bitmap and any PSD when VFB is open (sometimes/randomly). Just so you know it doesn't cause a crash in 3ds max 2021 Corona V5 HF1, so it looks like as an Autodesk/3ds max issue that got fixed.

Nevertheless, we will take a deeper look into it (internal id=488451940)
« Last Edit: 2020-04-02, 13:39:27 by GeorgeK »
“Every artist was first an amateur”