Author Topic: recommended HW  (Read 12838 times)

2013-02-04, 22:08:39
Reply #15

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
I should probably start to worry about 32bit integers in some parts of Corona...
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-02-04, 23:23:55
Reply #16

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 755
    • View Profile
...couple of heavily displaced geo with high res 32bit exr for displacement and other high res textures all surrounded by lots of other scattered geometry and rendering it all at some huge resolution, and I believe even with 64Gigs of ram I'd be instantly on the edge of possibilities :D... Having the cash, I get a 3dboxx with 512GB ram :D lol... But yeah, for now I guess getting a 3770 with 32GB for half the price of 3930 and 64GB sounds pretty good...

2013-02-04, 23:30:33
Reply #17

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
ok, first person to get the overflow when trying to use 4G polygons gets free beer ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-02-06, 11:23:09
Reply #18

kahein

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
hi everyone

this week, my ressellers will loan me three xeon phi 5110p.
I could test corona on them if you can recompile corona for support xeon phi.
Asus Z10PE-D16 WS / Dual Xeon E5-2690 v4 @ 2.60GHz / RAM 64 Go - GTX 970
Win 10 / Max 2017 / Corona 1.4

2013-02-06, 13:29:11
Reply #19

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
It won't be that easy, so there will be no support in the immediate future.
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-02-06, 14:51:36
Reply #20

kahein

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
corona don't use parallelism
It optimize for multicore right
Asus Z10PE-D16 WS / Dual Xeon E5-2690 v4 @ 2.60GHz / RAM 64 Go - GTX 970
Win 10 / Max 2017 / Corona 1.4

2013-02-06, 15:02:10
Reply #21

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
AFAIK phi acts as separate computer running linux. So I'll have to do DR first
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-02-06, 17:48:06
Reply #22

kahein

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
DR ?
Asus Z10PE-D16 WS / Dual Xeon E5-2690 v4 @ 2.60GHz / RAM 64 Go - GTX 970
Win 10 / Max 2017 / Corona 1.4

2013-02-06, 18:01:24
Reply #23

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
distributed rendering
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-02-07, 10:56:27
Reply #24

kahein

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
ah yeah distributed, if you can even do that it's great !
Asus Z10PE-D16 WS / Dual Xeon E5-2690 v4 @ 2.60GHz / RAM 64 Go - GTX 970
Win 10 / Max 2017 / Corona 1.4

2013-02-07, 22:47:56
Reply #25

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9978
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
From Monday I will probably have access to a PC with an i7-3770k. Can't wait to test some ponies.

2013-02-07, 22:57:59
Reply #26

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
From Monday I will probably have access to a PC with an i7-3770k. Can't wait to test some ponies.

From my experience ponies play smoothly even on low-end devices...  even on mobile devices with android for example. Flash player doesn't need much to run :)

2013-02-07, 23:41:31
Reply #27

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9978
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2013-02-08, 05:42:52
Reply #28

Javadevil

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 374
    • View Profile
AFAIK phi acts as separate computer running linux. So I'll have to do DR first

hehe a good reason to get started on it :) DR DR DR DR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I need DR.

2013-02-12, 14:33:01
Reply #29

michaltimko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 295
  • Coronaut (c)
    • View Profile
Adding DR to Corona is like supercharing your naturally aspirated V8 !
Coronaut!(c)2011

Supporting Corona in commercial projects since pre-alpha