Author Topic: Sample interior scene  (Read 64388 times)

2014-06-29, 23:24:56

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8841
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Rawalanche was so kind to release his scene used for the Corona A4 benchmark in original .max format. It is a small, nice example of complete scene, ready to render with Corona.



You can download it here: https://download.corona-renderer.com/sample_scene.zip. You will notice that the render settings are left to defaults except for exposure, as there is really no need to change anything to get nice renders ;).

NOTE: since the settings, lighting, and materials are slightly different between this scene and the one featured in the A4 benchmark scene, there is no point in comparing the results or rendering performance directly between the A4 benchmark and this scene.

Licence: Permission is granted to use the scene for personal learning purposes. It is strictly forbidden to sell the scene or any of its parts, or to claim the scene or its renders as own. Name of the original author (Ludvik Koutny) must be attached to any renders of the original or modified scene.
« Last Edit: 2014-07-21, 13:37:02 by Keymaster »
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-06-30, 12:50:46
Reply #1

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8841
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
up ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-06-30, 14:21:28
Reply #2

M0ntana

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Max 2012 x64. File Open Failed. Anyone else?
PS Congratulations with new Alpha!
« Last Edit: 2014-06-30, 15:13:39 by M0ntana »

2014-06-30, 14:56:04
Reply #3

Jann

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Finally a way to check the actual performance difference for various CPU's! Thank you very much! ^_^

2014-06-30, 14:57:10
Reply #4

btrdenis

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
failed to open!!! 3d max 2012 x64 :(

2014-06-30, 15:35:22
Reply #5

rampally

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 195
    • View Profile

Keymaster  some weird problem ....is it not compatible with A6 &2014????



2014-06-30, 15:35:52
Reply #6

crazyman

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 87
    • View Profile
Same here, 2012 does not work

2014-06-30, 16:32:30
Reply #7

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8841
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
No, it is compatible with A7 only
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-06-30, 16:38:38
Reply #8

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5183
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Is this means that scenes, created with A7, isn't backward compatible with previous versions?

2014-06-30, 16:39:37
Reply #9

rampally

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 195
    • View Profile
No, it is compatible with A7 only
Ok waiting for A7 .........................!!

2014-06-30, 16:43:22
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8841
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
romullus: I did not test for backwards compatibility. In some cases it is probably not possible. But there is no reason why to use A6 now ;)

No, it is compatible with A7 only
Ok waiting for A7 .........................!!
https://download.corona-renderer.com/a7.html

Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-06-30, 16:56:58
Reply #11

rampally

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 195
    • View Profile
romullus: I did not test for backwards compatibility. In some cases it is probably not possible. But there is no reason why to use A6 now ;)

No, it is compatible with A7 only
Ok waiting for A7 .........................!!
https://download.corona-renderer.com/a7.html
A BIG THANKS SRI Keymaster
(sri is sir in  India its more than that)

2014-06-30, 21:14:24
Reply #12

Bormax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 327
    • View Profile
Thanks for shared scene!
I've done a test render and noticed that picture rendered with alpha7 (100 passes) is more noisy compare to the picture I've got from Corona Alpha4 benchmark scene. A7 did same 100 passes a bit faster. I've tried to render it with the same time as Alpha4 benchmark rendered 100 passes, but the picture is still more noisy. Should it be so?

2014-06-30, 22:25:36
Reply #13

Adi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Same problem on 3ds Max 2012 x64 , can't open scene.

2014-06-30, 22:34:14
Reply #14

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8841
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Thanks for shared scene!
I've done a test render and noticed that picture rendered with alpha7 (100 passes) is more noisy compare to the picture I've got from Corona Alpha4 benchmark scene. A7 did same 100 passes a bit faster. I've tried to render it with the same time as Alpha4 benchmark rendered 100 passes, but the picture is still more noisy. Should it be so?

Are you comparing to the benchmark (standalone corona)? Because not everything can be exported to the standalone, so the scenes can differ. The benchmark was also more optimized (for example portals were given higher sampling weight). This is not done by default so it is robust (and the A7 version uses defaults to demonstrate the point that you DONT need to change any settings ;)).
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)