Author Topic: 3dcenter.ru Corona thread  (Read 43166 times)

2013-02-21, 12:06:50

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Hello,

when analyzing where visitors of our forum mostly come from, we have noticed that many of them come from a Russian site 3dcenter.ru. Thanks to this information, we have found a thread about Corona on the site. Unfortunately nor me nor Ondra know Russian language so we have read the thread using Google translator, which gave us only very crude and foggy translation.

From that crude translation, i understood that some of the Corona problems have been discussed, and i or Ondra may be able to provide answer for some of those problems. So, here are the answers for some of the problems i understood were discussed.

  • You should always use single sided planes in windows for window glass, and apply glass material set to twosided mode. Real glass will slow down rendering a bit, even if you disable shadow casting for it.
  • You should use HD cache as secondary GI for most of the interior scenes.
  • For curtain material to pass sunlight through, you should not use opacity, but refraction level parameter, with refraction mode set to twosided, and optionally, refraction color to be mapped with opacity map. This is at the moment more efficient solution than mapping opacity. You don't necessarily need to map refraction level if you do not want to, for basic effect of light shining through the curtain, just set refraction mode of curtain material to twosided, and raise refraction level to pass more light through the curtain. Mapping the refraction color will occlude sun based on the map you put in.
    This information might not be true for people with nightly builds, as opacity slowness should be fixed there. Some tests of mapped refraction with twosided mode vs opacity would be appreciated. :)
  • For scenes with strong depth of field, it is recommended to lower PT samples value to 2-8 to change ratio of GI vs AA sampling. Less PT samples mean more samples are devoted to AA, which is also responsible for clearing DoF effect. So you will get more samples in your AA and less in GI, which may lead to better balance and better rendertimes.
  • There is often a noise in surfaces with sharp, but very weak/faint reflection. That is caused due to the insufficient adaptivity and therefore objects in reflection having insufficient sampling priority. This is a known issue and will be fixed in next alpha release. For those of you who have nightly builds, you can go to Devel/Debug settings and try to use Per-pixel M+C sampler, which should solve this problem at the slight expense of performance.
So i would like to ask people who are both Corona and 3dcenter.ru members to pass these information to guys from 3dcenter.ru, and inform them that they are always welcome on our forum too. :)
« Last Edit: 2013-02-21, 12:14:30 by Rawalanche »

2013-02-21, 12:40:59
Reply #1

ecximer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 286
  • Scriptobot
    • View Profile
I've already told them. :)

At the expense of opacity in tulle. Here I am personally satisfied with the result and speed. I'll try to do a refraction, but I do not see much sense.
sorry for my english

2013-02-21, 12:52:03
Reply #2

SHD

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/xshd/

2013-02-21, 12:55:29
Reply #3

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
I've already told them. :)

At the expense of opacity in tulle. Here I am personally satisfied with the result and speed. I'll try to do a refraction, but I do not see much sense.

Problem there was that in public A3 release (not nightly) there was a bug that would sometimes make opacity quite slow ;)

2013-02-21, 13:08:27
Reply #4

ecximer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 286
  • Scriptobot
    • View Profile
All right. I understand you. ;)
sorry for my english

2013-02-23, 16:09:46
Reply #5

Han

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • CG generalist
    • View Profile
Thanks guys for your attention to us.
I have not worked for two years with 3d Max, now my main software is Cinema 4D, but the Crown has made me re-run the old software)))
In the future, if I can expect integration with Cinema 4D?
You will not be there for such competition - Vray integration worthless, Octane is not out yet, Arion and never will be, there is a mental ray but almost no one uses.
If I will be the integration of the first in line to buy it!

2013-02-23, 16:19:42
Reply #6

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8891
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
sure, as soon as I get the money to pay for it, I'll hire someone for it.
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-02-23, 18:45:17
Reply #7

Han

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • CG generalist
    • View Profile
My first test on a commercial stage. It was originally made ​​by Vray . you can buy it here  zancanaro.com/gspot/?page_id=91
26 min   2500 х1461

1h

1h 30 min

 
« Last Edit: 2013-02-23, 18:52:17 by Han »

2013-02-23, 19:09:47
Reply #8

Chakib

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 787
  • Corona Omnomnomer !
    • View Profile
Great render Han of the G spot of the  bed

The displacement for bricks looks nice even if the closeup is a little bit smoother, but it's ok it's nice !

2013-02-25, 08:59:38
Reply #9

Ludvik Koutny

  • VIP
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 2562
  • Just another user
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Another info...

When rendering mandelbulb animation:
  • If you want it to not deform, then move camera instead of mandelbulb object. Its simply a container for volume in world space, so if you move it, mandelbulb will deform.
  • When rendering animation, it's better to render first a single frame, to see how many passes it takes to get clean, and then disable time limit, enable pass limit, and set to the number of passes you got from single frame test. This will ensure noise will be consistent from frame to frame.
  • When rendering very fine fractal detail, you might want to lower PT samples amount to capture fine details with more antialiasing.

2013-02-25, 10:28:21
Reply #10

Han

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • CG generalist
    • View Profile
In my test on the wall displacement is very bad, which is a smeared.
How to fix it?

2013-02-25, 10:35:52
Reply #11

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8891
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
lower texture filter value in Texture settings, and/or lower max projected triangle size in Corona settings

Also, try tesselating the walls a little
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-03-03, 17:44:05
Reply #12

Triar

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile



daily build(030313), 3dmax design 2013, windows 8x64

2013-03-03, 17:46:12
Reply #13

SHD

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/xshd/

2013-03-03, 18:08:46
Reply #14

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 757
    • View Profile
Did you copy all the necessary stuff from corona into 3dsmax root directory?? Cause 3ds max is saying it's missing wxwidgets content(new corona custom framebuffer thing...)!