Author Topic: Very long GI  (Read 3229 times)

2014-09-29, 17:49:49

M0ntana

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Hallo! I have very long GI miscalculation. PT + PT, 7 hours i had 36 passes, 1 hour 33 minutes with PT+HD and i have this.
6 RAM, i7 930 up to 4 Gz, Win 7 64x, 3ds Max 2014 x64. In "Development" I changed acc. structure to BVH full SAH because i had windows freeze on Building acc. structure.

2014-09-29, 18:07:44
Reply #1

Captain Obvious

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 168
    • View Profile
Haha, wow, 4000 rays per second! Something is broken. Try turning half the scene off and try again. Then turn half of the remaining half off, and try again. Keep doing that until you figure out what's causing the problem.

2014-09-29, 18:13:02
Reply #2

M0ntana

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Ty friend. Will try, any other ideas?

2014-09-29, 18:18:43
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Do you have some free RAM? If yes, please send me the scene (https://corona-renderer.com/upload/), I will take a look
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-09-30, 13:58:25
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10041
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Did you change any other render settings? If it's an outdoor scene with lots of geometry then I would suggest rendering with PT+PT. Hd cache will give you little or none speed boost.

2014-09-30, 14:15:30
Reply #5

M0ntana

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Did you change any other render settings? If it's an outdoor scene with lots of geometry then I would suggest rendering with PT+PT. Hd cache will give you little or none speed boost.
PT+PT only 36 passes after 7 hours.  I changed only acc. structure to BVH full SAH in "Development" options.

2014-09-30, 14:25:28
Reply #6

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile

Can you send the scene? I would like to take a look why it crashed
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2014-09-30, 14:29:15
Reply #7

M0ntana

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile

Can you send the scene? I would like to take a look why it crashed
I did it this morning (uploaded as 1412073588_Scene.rar).
« Last Edit: 2014-09-30, 14:52:23 by M0ntana »

2014-10-01, 18:27:06
Reply #8

M0ntana

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
06 hours 30 minutes 40 passes PT+PT.
« Last Edit: 2014-10-01, 18:30:35 by M0ntana »

2014-12-09, 19:13:51
Reply #9

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Thanks for the scene. It renders fine here, but barely fits into 16GB ram. Either you did nto have enough RAM, or it was caused by some bug in an older version of Corona that is now fixed.
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)