Author Topic: Corona Alpha4 Benchmark scene  (Read 311225 times)

2015-02-27, 09:05:07
Reply #480

Holy

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Ok thanks, never read that. Any chance for a distributed rendering option in the next benchmark? Got 40 dual e5-2630 waiting here :-)

2015-02-27, 11:30:55
Reply #481

GraphDesign

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
After 100 pass its steel noisy....

2015-02-27, 14:09:27
Reply #482

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8900
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
1.0 benchmark is planned...
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-02-27, 14:44:13
Reply #483

tomislavn

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 693
  • Lightbringer
    • View Profile
    • My 3docean Portolio

2015-03-05, 11:42:52
Reply #484

masteroner

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Corona Renderer Alpha 4 benchmark scene
 Living room 100 passes
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2670 v3 @ 2.30GHz
Time: 0:4:0, Rays/s: 5,289,210

cpu xeon


2015-03-08, 02:22:16
Reply #485

quizzy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Corona Renderer Alpha 4 benchmark scene
 Living room 100 passes
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5930K CPU @ 3.50GHz
Time: 0:3:11, Rays/s: 6,636,747

2015-03-09, 17:35:47
Reply #486

RobSteady

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Quick test in Octane Render.


2015-03-10, 12:48:05
Reply #487

mitviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 482
  • Architectural/Product Modeling and Rendering
    • View Profile
    • MITVIZ
Can't waite for the new benchmark files
Mitviz
Professional Modeling and Rendering Solutions
Intel core i7-5960x cpu @3 GHz, GeForce GTX 970

2015-03-15, 01:41:39
Reply #488

SairesArt

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 687
  • Pizza | The Cheesen One
    • View Profile
    • SairesArt Portfolio
Quick test in Octane Render.
>Corona render benchmark thread
>posting quad Titan Octane for comparison
uhhm... wat?
Let's keep the benchmark thread clear of these, for comparison sake.

edit: just for fun, 1 TitanZ 3000$ of amazon, 1 Titan 1200$. Hard limited to 6gb vram.
8400$ in graphicscards alone and you still need 2 mins for a clean image? Something off on your side, I recall octane demos being a whole lot faster.
Compared to my 8mins on my 160$ fx8350, I'd rather stay on corona side^^

Corona Renderer Alpha 4 benchmark scene
 Living room 100 passes
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5930K CPU @ 3.50GHz
Time: 0:3:11, Rays/s: 6,636,747
Seems off, earlier posts suggest you should perform better.
Quote
Corona Renderer Alpha 4 benchmark scene
 Living room 100 passes
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5820K CPU @ 3.30GHz
Time: 0:2:58, Rays/s: 7,126,987
« Last Edit: 2015-03-15, 01:53:47 by SairesArt »

2015-03-15, 17:59:20
Reply #489

RobSteady

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Sorry for posting this in Corona related thread.
You can find an updated version here in the following thread.
After optimizing the scene (light portals etc.) I get an almost clean render after 50 seconds.
I think this can be optimized even further.
https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php/topic,6758.45.html

just for fun, 1 TitanZ 3000$ of amazon, 1 Titan 1200$. Hard limited to 6gb vram.

These infos are a little bit outdated.
I got my Titans for 900€ each and the Titan Z for 1400€.
Also vram consumption is very moderate. You can easily render complex scenes with proxies and stuff below 5 gb. It's not comparable to convential system ram.
You also have the option to use system ram for textures.

The new Titan X is coming out next week with 12gb of vram.
It seems like this card could be as fast as one Titan Z card (TBC!).

I don't want to advertise Octane here, just clarify some facts.
It was not the intention to start a never ending debate which engine is better, just wanted to give you guys a comparison.

« Last Edit: 2015-03-15, 22:14:53 by RobSteady »

2015-04-15, 19:00:12
Reply #490

Nekrobul

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 1026
    • View Profile
Sorry for posting this in Corona related thread.
You can find an updated version here in the following thread.
After optimizing the scene (light portals etc.) I get an almost clean render after 50 seconds.
I think this can be optimized even further.
https://corona-renderer.com/forum/index.php/topic,6758.45.html

just for fun, 1 TitanZ 3000$ of amazon, 1 Titan 1200$. Hard limited to 6gb vram.

These infos are a little bit outdated.
I got my Titans for 900€ each and the Titan Z for 1400€.
Also vram consumption is very moderate. You can easily render complex scenes with proxies and stuff below 5 gb. It's not comparable to convential system ram.
You also have the option to use system ram for textures.

The new Titan X is coming out next week with 12gb of vram.
It seems like this card could be as fast as one Titan Z card (TBC!).

I don't want to advertise Octane here, just clarify some facts.
It was not the intention to start a never ending debate which engine is better, just wanted to give you guys a comparison.

Totaly not worth it. And that is benchmark not a living scene with a 1-4 MM polys.

BTW never seen a good enough work on octane site.
---------------------------------------------------------------
https://www.blackbellstudio.com/
https://www.behance.net/blackbell3d
CEO at "Blackbell Studio"

2015-05-09, 13:58:16
Reply #491

spadestick

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 192
    • View Profile
dang my mac mini is slowwww...

Corona Renderer Alpha 4 benchmark scene
 Living room 100 passes
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2415M CPU @ 2.30GHz
Time: 0:16:36, Rays/s: 1,276,296

2015-05-12, 02:51:02
Reply #492

hugojackson18

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
My try, with a Surface Pro 3, i5
It's unfortunately a lot slower than most of you guys here! It's actually a real pain to do 3d rendering with a Surface Pro...


Corona Renderer Alpha 4 benchmark scene
 Living room 100 passes
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4300U CPU @ 1.90GHz
Time: 0:17:11, Rays/s: 1,232,826


2015-05-12, 11:31:27
Reply #493

Rimas

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • Please refer all complaints to a brick wall nearby
    • View Profile
Hey, a fellow Surface Pro 3 user :)
I'll need to test this with my i7 Pro3, see if I can get it done faster. But 17min compared to 2 min on a desktop is quite terrible :D

Hint: SP3 throttles heavily under prolonged load. If you point a tiny fan to the back of it you can prevent it from doing so (weird, search this on youtube!). I would suspect the rendertime to cut to ~7-10min or maybe even less if you can stop it from throttling.
A morning of awkwardness is far better than a night of loneliness...

2015-05-12, 11:46:37
Reply #494

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9110
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
1.9 - 2.9GHz should perform better. Even my 1st gen i3 laptop is faster. Maybe you are working in some low-performance power plan?