Author Topic: Masks based on materials will behave different between Daily Builds and Alpha  (Read 3141 times)

2014-12-31, 14:52:54

johan belmans

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
    • belly.be
Hi there,

be aware that when you switch between Daily Builds and Alpha7.2 any masking render element will behave differently.
This is due to the fact that within the advanced options rollout of the materials "the intention" of the mask option has changed into the opposite from alpha to Daily build. It changed from "visible" towards "invisible".

Very annoying if you render out an animation.....

Maybe it is wise to switch it back to "visible" because:
- alpha users will experience the same thing as they use their old files with the new commercial build.
- users material libraries made with alpha 7 will have the same problem with newer builds.

Or is it possible to add some extra code that the switch between the older and newer builds will take visible or invisible masks into account?

2015-01-02, 10:54:13
Reply #1

johan belmans

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
    • belly.be

2015-01-02, 18:43:24
Reply #2

mirokurcik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
yes, it is very annoying.
maybe this little script help you.

2015-01-02, 19:49:12
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8896
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
there is supposed to be a check that will invert the value when first loaded in new version... I must look why it is not working. But only single report is necessary.
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-01-03, 09:27:32
Reply #4

johan belmans

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
    • belly.be
I think I found it.

the build in check is working from alpha 7.2 towards daily builds. And gives the expected behaviour.
But not from daily builds towards Alpha 7.2.

-Create a file in Alpha 7.2 with two objects. Attach to both of them a standard corona mtl. One with invisible mask (Object A) unchecked and one with the option checked (Object B).
-When rendering the Mat ID pass, Object A will be visible and Object B not.
-Save the file
-Open the same file with a daily Build and render the file. Object A will be visible and Object B not.
-Save the file.
Open the same file again with Alpha 7.2 and render out the Mat ID pass.
Result: Object A is not visible and Object B is.
« Last Edit: 2015-01-03, 09:36:27 by belly »

2015-01-03, 10:00:26
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8896
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
ok, then this is not a bug - the backwards compatibility cannot be maintained
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-01-04, 18:39:27
Reply #6

d-3

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Hi Guys! is just me? or someone else are rendering without alpha and elements???
DB: Build timestamp: Jan  2 2015 21:04:16
Cheers?!

2015-01-04, 19:31:24
Reply #7

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 5802
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Check if Element Active checkbox is checked. It's off by default in newest build for some reason.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.

2015-01-04, 19:35:25
Reply #8

d-3

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
is active! all possible max parameter are tested! donĀ“t have alpha channel in Framebuffer! or any other element!
sure is corona! the problem appers after last DB update! :D

2015-01-04, 20:13:38
Reply #9

d-3

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Problem Solved! the new Build convert old material to new one  and set alpha mask not visible! Cheers!

2015-02-01, 00:41:08
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8896
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
fixed - now when going back, everything is visible to masks
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)