Author Topic: portals & translucency  (Read 4631 times)

2013-03-31, 17:30:51

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
Do not know this is a bug or a feature ...
Portals reduce translucency effect from CoronaSky or HDRI!
« Last Edit: 2013-03-31, 17:55:11 by Polymax »
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-03-31, 18:03:55
Reply #1

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
And another feature or a bug?
Here no Corona Sun, only HDRI!
« Last Edit: 2013-03-31, 18:32:35 by Polymax »
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-03-31, 18:55:21
Reply #2

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Try it with max sample intensity 0
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-03-31, 19:32:46
Reply #3

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
Yes indeed, MSI strongly influences on the translucence.
And I think that it is still a feature of the portal, not a bug, right?
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-03-31, 19:55:50
Reply #4

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
So the image looks different with MSI 0 and no portals? Do you use HD cache?
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-03-31, 20:09:22
Reply #5

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
So the image looks different with MSI 0 and no portals? Do you use HD cache?
Yes, I use HD cache!
I again tested (with portals). The big difference in lighting!
« Last Edit: 2013-03-31, 20:17:31 by Polymax »
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-03-31, 20:31:56
Reply #6

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
I Tested in PT+PT mode rendering and again diffrence is big!
Well, I guess it's okay, because at MSI = 0 samples are clamp.
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-03-31, 21:00:38
Reply #7

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
yes, there is supposed to be a difference between different MSI, but not between portals/no portals when rendering in unbiased mode (MSI 0, PT+PT)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-03-31, 21:01:08
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 9978
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
You mean with MSI=10 samples are clamped? Setting MSI to 0 should introduce more noise, right?

2013-03-31, 21:05:53
Reply #9

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
yes, there is supposed to be a difference between different MSI, but not between portals/no portals when rendering in unbiased mode (MSI 0, PT+PT)
I tested it too, the difference between the portals/no portals  - no!
Quote
You mean with MSI=10 samples are clamped? Setting MSI to 0 should introduce more noise, right?
Yes and Yes!
« Last Edit: 2013-03-31, 21:07:36 by Polymax »
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-03-31, 21:35:56
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8913
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
no, 0 = infinity = no bias.

If there is no difference when using PT+PT MSI0, then it is not a bug, but I'll have to set default MSI higher in future builds
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-03-31, 21:42:04
Reply #11

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
And you can restore to default random sampler "Aplha 3 emu.." :)! According to my tests, it is better for light sampling.
Corona - the best rendering solution!