Author Topic: Xeon E7-8800 v3  (Read 7748 times)

2015-02-16, 10:05:38

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1492
    • View Profile
Ahahaha ^__^

--- LINK ---

18 core (2.5 GHZ) * 8 CPU machine * HT = 288 threads  or 360 Real GHz
« Last Edit: 2015-02-16, 10:24:20 by cecofuli »

2015-02-16, 10:18:37
Reply #1

daniel.reutersward

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 310
    • View Profile

2015-02-16, 10:25:44
Reply #2

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1492
    • View Profile
I don't know the price, but one CPU could cost... $5000 * 8 = $40.000 only for the CPUs   (^___^)

And, it's so bad that we have only 8 CORE CPU $1000 for desktop... (>__>)
« Last Edit: 2015-02-16, 18:28:57 by cecofuli »

2015-02-16, 11:29:32
Reply #3

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3755
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Hah, 165W at stock. I would not expect that from Intel :- )

Sadly it wouldn't work for rendering. For whatever reasons are behind it, while Windows perfectly supports all the cores you throw at it today, the render engines seems to struggle,
as illustrated by quite few people on Chaos forums and even two threads here I remember, with only solution being distributed rendering run under single system (multiple spawners).
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2015-02-16, 12:05:43
Reply #4

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
I don't know the price, but one CPU could cost... $5000 * 8 = $40.000 only for the CPUs   (^___^)

So? Nvidia VCA is about 50k a pop and GPU rendering folk like to use its results in arguments ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-02-16, 12:28:02
Reply #5

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1492
    • View Profile
I don't know if Corona will be able to handle 288 threads (maybe yes? I think we will not able to know ^__^ ) , but 360 GHZ on one machine it's incredible. Only a few years ago, we needed 10 PC!
About price, $5.000/CPU is just my suggestion. It' could be more.  I think this machine will cost more that $50.000
But yes, I agree. I prefer to spend $50.000 in one CPU machine (with 128 GB RAM), than in VCA solution.

2015-02-16, 12:28:51
Reply #6

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
Hi. These articles from the Area explains the problem/solution:

http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/maxstation/n268-how-many-cores-does-3ds-max-support
http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/maxstation/n269-how-many-cores-does-3ds-max-support-part-2-renderers

Seems like it's a Windows limitation not handled efficient by Max ATM.

Hope it helps

2015-02-16, 12:37:00
Reply #7

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1492
    • View Profile
Thanks PROH =) Interesting.

2015-02-16, 13:29:12
Reply #8

Juraj Talcik

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 3755
  • Tinkering away
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Hi. These articles from the Area explains the problem/solution:

http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/maxstation/n268-how-many-cores-does-3ds-max-support
http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/maxstation/n269-how-many-cores-does-3ds-max-support-part-2-renderers



Quote
And as 3ds Max isn't Windows Processor Group aware it will run in a single group only

Amazing, just amazing. Almost as good as their single-core processing of most tools. Perhaps they would like to improve this...eventually.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2015-02-16, 15:23:10
Reply #9

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8904
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Amazing, just amazing. Almost as good as their single-core processing of most tools. Perhaps they would like to improve this...eventually.

But then they would not have time for caddies, ribbons, and view cubes!
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-02-16, 18:10:21
Reply #10

borisquezadaa

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
So is the end of Moore's law?... if they canĀ“t make it smaller they add cores?...hmm... interesting. Hows that feel for gpus. XD.
What i do with Corona My Corona post of random stuff rendering
WARNING: English.dll still loading...

2015-02-20, 19:34:45
Reply #11

artmaknev

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • 3d
Exactly!
When will they start making Dual Xeon beast laptops, I need one for mobility.

2015-02-20, 19:40:42
Reply #12

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1492
    • View Profile
Here

http://www.eurocom.com/

you can buy a single CPU Xeon  E5-2695 V2  (24 thread)  3.2 GHz (Panther 5SE)
with 32 GB
4 HHD (RAID 10)
BluRay

But, tha CPU only cost $2200 ;-)
With High setting (Xeon, 32 Gb, 4 HHD, 8 Gb VGA) = 4.700+VAT euro!

« Last Edit: 2015-02-20, 19:47:05 by cecofuli »

2015-02-20, 21:05:00
Reply #13

rafpug

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 722
    • View Profile
Here

http://www.eurocom.com/

you can buy a single CPU Xeon  E5-2695 V2  (24 thread)  3.2 GHz (Panther 5SE)
with 32 GB
4 HHD (RAID 10)
BluRay

But, tha CPU only cost $2200 ;-)
With High setting (Xeon, 32 Gb, 4 HHD, 8 Gb VGA) = 4.700+VAT euro!


Hello cecofuli

the best of machines

2015-02-21, 00:13:41
Reply #14

artmaknev

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • 3d
holly cow!! This thing is a beast!

http://www.eurocom.com/ec/images(234)ec

2015-02-21, 03:41:12
Reply #15

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1492
    • View Profile
Yes, I told you ;-)  but it's veeery expensive!!

2015-02-21, 03:52:19
Reply #16

Javadevil

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 372
    • View Profile


Wow just even on of these 18 core Xeons will smash my i7-2700k.
I'd love to get a new PC thats 4 times as fast as my i7-2700k in one CPU.


2015-03-19, 01:03:17
Reply #17

artmaknev

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 141
    • View Profile
    • 3d
Is it really possible to add 8 CPUs in 1 machine???  I only seen mobos with 4 cpu slots, they now have 8??

2015-03-19, 23:51:32
Reply #18

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1492
    • View Profile
I think you have to see some Supermicro solution for RACK hardware.