Author Topic: Why there won't be Corona for Blender...  (Read 21799 times)

2013-09-11, 20:05:08
Reply #15

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8830
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
there are about 5 people that started an exporter at some point in the past ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-09-30, 14:43:00
Reply #16

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8830
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
kinda relevant :D

Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-11-20, 19:18:39
Reply #17

afecelis

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
And, why is Octane Render for Blender (commercial product) released today if Blender is covered by GPL licence? ?? O_O

www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r2o2zOducc

Indeed, and Indigo, and Thea, and Vray. It's impossible to get commercial-quality stuff into Blender, huh?

2015-11-21, 16:23:57
Reply #18

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 732
    • View Profile
Get the facts straight.
Blender for Octane is GPL... Octane Stand Alone is commercial product
Blender for VRay is GPL... VRay Stand Alone is commercial product.
Blender is GPL... Indigo, Thea, PRMan, Maxwell... are supported via exporters (python code, GPL). As Corona is!
« Last Edit: 2015-11-21, 16:28:12 by burnin »

2017-11-30, 14:29:54
Reply #19

MannaTheBerserk

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
And, why is Octane Render for Blender (commercial product) released today if Blender is covered by GPL licence? ?? O_O

www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r2o2zOducc

Indeed, and Indigo, and Thea, and Vray. It's impossible to get commercial-quality stuff into Blender, huh?

V-Ray for Blender does not give you access to RT, because of the GPL license. So you get a watered down version of VRay plugin compared to the other software.
Octane plugin is open source, that's why you get it working, but Octane Standalone, which is of course independent from your software, is not. That's why you get the plugin working (by the way, it doesn't work if you don't have the standalone).

I am pretty sure that the others, Indigo and Thea, have similar properties (either the plugin is open source, or something combined like Octane).

So there you have it.

Blender GPL license is your handbrake here.

2018-01-16, 03:55:48
Reply #20

christo9273

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Ok i'm gonna buy/subscribe windows 10, and 3dsmax 2017 for all my ten machines, or perhaps exchanging them for macs, and I'll buy corona after if I have something left. Thank you!

2018-11-14, 22:51:15
Reply #21

beep

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Octane plugin is open source, that's why you get it working, but Octane Standalone, which is of course independent from your software, is not. That's why you get the plugin working (by the way, it doesn't work if you don't have the standalone).

I am pretty sure that the others, Indigo and Thea, have similar properties (either the plugin is open source, or something combined like Octane).

So there you have it.

Blender GPL license is your handbrake here.

Well, the Otoy's Blender version is open source. The Octane engine is not Open Source as it is sold as separate Server application that connects to that special version of Blender.
So there is possibility to use a commercial render engine in Blender that works as a local server application that sends back and forth the information to Blender.